Inspired By: Will Staehle

Yiddish Policemen's Union

They say you can’t judge a book by it’s cover, but…Paul is currently reading The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon and even though I’m a huge fan of his ever since I read The Amazing Adventures of Cavalier & Clay I would be drawn to this book by the cover alone.

Will Staehle is a designer who has created many memorable covers, see more at his website. Last night Paul challenged me to create a design that was inspired by Staehle’s cover art. I decided to use a quote that I had recently discovered browsing Pinterest. Yes, when we are lucky enough to have internet in addition to writing a spurt of blog posts and trying to avoid Facebook, I go on Pinterest to stay inspired. (Check out my boards here.)

While I deviated from the color scheme, I used loose symmetry as well as similar symbols and typography as the original. Though my version pales in comparison to the work of Mr. Staehle I just hope he, too, believes as Charles Caleb Colton and I do that, “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.”

Mari

Rules for Being Amazing

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

