Food, Glorious Food!

Savory Corn Muffins

CornMuffin

I made these savory muffins recently and although I didn’t have just plain yellow cornmeal, a mix of masarepa (pre-cooked yellow cornmeal) and polenta (coarsly ground cornmeal) worked just as well. We liked them with extra ají (red pepper), shredded cheese, and onion.

Find the Savory Corn Muffin recipe here.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

PulledChickenSandwich

This is one meal that reminds us of summer BBQs back in the US. BBQ is not really a tradition here so I had to make the BBQ sauce from scratch, too. To save time you can use pre-cooked chicken or if you have the time, marinate the chicken first before cooking it in the delicious sauce. Paul liked it with tons of ají, or chili pepper.

Find the BBQ Sauce recipe here.

Find the Pulled Chicken Sandwich recipe here.

Llapingachos (Ecuadorian Potato Cakes)

Llapingauchos

I was feeling bad that I wasn’t making enough Ecuadorian recipes so I visited Laylita’s website to try my hand at an Ecuadorian dish (thanks for the link, Clare!). I made these llapingachos with traditional peanut sauce (not pictured) as a side dish one night and they were delicious.

Find more Ecuadorian recipes here.

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

OatmealCookies

We had some extra raisins and like any good Ecuadorian we always have “Quaker” (pronounced here like quack-er – like another name for a duck) on hand. I never realized how popular oatmeal was down here until I was served it for breakfast and mixed with cinnamon and milk as a hot drink at lunch.

I like my raisin cookies chewy and reading this recipe I found out the secret is to refrigerate the batter before serving.

Find the Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies recipe here.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Food, Glorious Food!”

  1. LFFL says :

    Love your food pics.

  2. Playamart - Zeebra Designs says :

    well i’m officially hungry now! set and extra place at the table; i’ll fire up the magic carpet and will be there soon!

Leave a Reply

